AGM 08 – New Committee!

April 23, 2008 in events, minutes, news by Emma

So we had our AGM and amongst other things we elected our new committee! Click the jump to see who they are and read the minutes.

President: Rachel Laming
Vice-President: Claire Rooney
Secretary: Emma Gay
Treasurer: Jonathan Grant
Publicity Officer: Sinead Sheridan
Website Convenor: Robert Hallam
Fundraising Co-ordinator: Megan Bailey
Social Convenor: Catriona Gribbin
Ordinary Board Members: Jonny Beirne and Callum Taylor.

Contact details can be found as usual on the website at

Congratulations to all.


– Report of previous AGM and two EGMs given by Emma, and financial report given by Helen.
– Amendments to constitution re: new positions and committee meetings proposed and accepted.
– Elections took place and new committee (detailed above) was elected.
– Ideas for improvement of the society were suggested and discussed as follows:
— plan for Fresher’s week sooner
— try to get members more involved in meetings, planning and leading
— more promotion of weekly meetings
— more use of university publications (guardian, qmunicate etc) for promotion
— blog – change usage, relate more to meetings
— find some more ‘public eye’ speakers
– A committee meeting will be held soon to handover and go through materials.